SHOROC has today welcomed the NSW Government’s announcement of the structure of the Greater Sydney Commission, applauding the primary objective of a stronger partnership between state and local government for metropolitan planning.

“It is positive to see that the structure of the Commission appears to set up a formal partnership model between state and local government and that local government will be responsible for selection of the six District Commissioners,” said SHOROC President and Mayor of Mosman Cr Peter Abelson.

The councils of northern Sydney are ahead of the game and fully prepared to work with the Commission.

SHOROC and NSROC have been holding regular meetings of the Mayors and GMs of northern Sydney for the past two years to partner with the NSW Government in developing our northern Sydney district plan.

The meeting of Mayors and GMs of northern Sydney put forward a model on the Greater Sydney Commission in March 2015 which aligns with the Commission structure announced.

“Positively the structure aligns with the model put forward to the government by the meeting of the Mayors and GMs of northern Sydney in our submission on the Greater Sydney Commission in March, including that this group select the District Commissioner to represent our region.”

Under this model, the meetings of Mayors and GMs of northern Sydney will work closely with the Commission in developing and delivering the northern Sydney district plan.

“It will be important for us to review the foreshadowed legislation to fully understand the Commission structure including how it and the government will work with local government”.

A key to success will be the true integration of infrastructure and land use planning.

The NSW Government has announced the Greater Sydney Commission will have 13 appointees, including:

  • an independent Chair, who will report to the Minister for Planning
  • three independent Commissioners – Environment, Economic and Social
  • six District Commissioners, nominated by Sydney councils to advocate their needs
  • three key government heads from the Department of Planning and Environment, Transport for NSW and NSW Treasury.


“We look forward to reviewing the legislation and to working with the NSW Government and the Commission once established to plan for the future of our region and Sydney as a whole,” said Mayor Abelson.